Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ) is a self defence martial art and combat sport that focuses on grappling and ground fighting.  It revolves around the concept, taken from traditional Japanese jūjutsu, that a smaller, weaker person can successfully defend themselves against a bigger, stronger, heavier opponent by using leverage and weight distribution, taking the fight to the ground and using a number of holds and submissions to defeat them. BJJ training can be used for sport grappling and self-defence situations.

At SBG Bradford we have a dedicated team of coaches, led by Coach Spen, a distinguished 2nd-degree black belt under the mentorship of Matt Thornton at SBG. Joining Coach Spen is the experienced Jason Johnson, a Brown belt, and the accomplished Marie Spencer, a Purple belt with 2 stripes. Together, they provide a comprehensive and supportive learning environment.

Our classes extend beyond physical training, meticulously designed to cultivate both your physical and mental strength, fostering the development of confidence and discipline. Whether you are a novice or an experienced practitioner, our classes cater to all levels of expertise. Join us and start your own BJJ journey.  All you need is a BJJ gi and a gumshield. Elevate your skills, boost your confidence, and discover the incredible benefits of BJJ at SBG Bradford.

BJJ Grading System

At SBG Bradford Coach Spen is always assessing the progress of his students and  promotes them based on their technique when drilling and applying that technique in rolling/sparring.  See below for the BJJ belt system.

  • White belt
  • White belt 1 stripe
  • White belt 2 stripes
  • White belt 3 stripes
  • White belt 4 stripes
  • Blue belt
  • Blue belt 1 stripe
  • Blue belt 2 stripes
  • Blue belt 3 stripes
  • Blue belt 4 stripes
  • Purple belt
  • Purple belt 1 stripe
  • Purple belt 2 stripes
  • Purple belt 3 stripes
  • Purple belt 4 stripes
  • Brown belt
  • Brown belt 1 stripe
  • Brown belt 2 stripes
  • Brown belt 3 stripes
  • Brown belt 4 stripes
  • Black belt
  • 1st degree Black belt
  • 2nd degree Black belt 
  • 3rd degree Black belt 
  • 4th degree Black belt
  • 5th Degree Black belt
  • 6th degree Black belt 
  • 7th degree Black belt
  • 8th degree Black belt 
  • Red/Black belt (Coral)
  • Red/White belt (Coral)
  • Red belt 
Scroll to Top